Salt Lake City, UT-When lawmakers approved a bill to decrease the legal limit for DUIs, all the details hadn’t been worked out. Now, with the implementation of the law on the horizon, Utah legislators are trying to work out the details of the legislation which aims to reduce drunk driving accidents.
Lowering BAC Creates Headache for Lawmakers
Drunk drivers injure thousands and kill close to three hundred people in Utah each year, and many of those drivers have a minimum blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent. To save more motorists from the agony of a drunk driving accident, legislators in Utah passed a law lowering the state’s legal limit to 0.05 percent, down from 0.08 percent, making it the first state to pass such a bill.
Utah Governor Gary Herbert signed HB 155 on March 23, 2017, encouraging lawmakers to work together and come up with reasonable punishments for violating the law. Lawmakers must make the consequences of being over the legal limit punitive enough to discourage repeat offenses, but not too tough. There’s a fine line between the two and lawmakers are struggling to compromise.
Some lawmakers are concerned that constituents will be arrested and charged with DUI for simply having a drink with dinner. Rep. Gage Froerer, R-Ogden, said he didn’t want anyone to “lose their license for drinking, you know, one glass of wine,” the Salt Lake Tribune reports. Rep. Froerer believes the penalty for violating the 0.05 legal limit should be akin to a “speeding ticket,” KUTV reports.
One lawmaker suggested that drivers with a BAC of 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent lose their license for 120 days, according to KUTV. Some lawmakers would prefer the law be repealed but say they would compromise for softer punishment.
Drunk Driving Accidents in Utah
Drunk driving accidents in Utah are on the rise. In 2015, approximately 13.3 percent of fatal accidents were caused by alcohol-impaired drivers some of which are double or triple the current legal limit of 0.08 percent. Lowering the legal limit will protect some citizens from drunk driving accidents, but it won’t stop them all.
If you are it by a drunk driver, you need to speak with a drunk driving accident lawyer in Utah right away. You may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills and other collision-related expenses, and you need to act fast to ensure the best outcome.
USAttorneys.com can connect you with an informed and skilled attorney to help you recover a just settlement for you drunk driving crash. Our team of attorneys in Utah will stand up for your rights and try to get maximum compensation. Call and arrange a case consultation today.