Abbeville County, SC- The Fourth of July is a deadly day on the roads in Alabama and all across the U.S. That is due in part to an uptick in travel but most fatal crashes on Independence Day are caused by drunken drivers of all ages. A recent crash in South Carolina is a tragic example of the consequences when an intoxicated teen is behind the wheel.
South Carolina Teen Charged with DUI After Fatal Crash
South Carolina Highway Patrol told the Associated Press that the crash occurred on July 4, 2017, on a gravel road in Due West, South Carolina around 12:30 a.m. The news agency reports that a 16-year-old driving a pickup truck ran off the road and flipped the truck.
A 17-year-old passenger was ejected from the truck and was pronounced dead at the scene.
The driver was charged with felony DUI involving death and minor in possession of alcohol.
Teens and Drunk Driving in South Carolina
Drunk driving at any age is unacceptable and dangerous and sadly accidents like the one discussed above play out regularly in South Carolina. Neither adults or teens practice safe driving techniques when they are alcohol- or drug-impaired, but with less driving experience, teens are more likely to crash in an impaired state. A teen with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent is 17 times more likely to die in a drunk driving accident, according to the Centers for Disease Control.
It’s normal for an accident victim to expect the at-fault party to cover the damages to their vehicle, but when a teen driver is responsible, recovering compensation can be complicated. Under these circumstances, it is in your best interest to speak with a drunk driving accident lawyer in South Carolina. They understand how to handle complex liability issues and can deal with the practical aspects of your claim.
When a teen driver is responsible for a deadly or injurious crash, figuring out who is financially responsible for their crash. The teen can be liable and so can their parents. If you want to settle with an insurer, the policyholder, whether it is a teen or a parent.
It is also possible to file a civil claim against a teen driver, but they typically have few assets or little income to pay a settlement. In some cases, it may be better to file a claim against the teen driver’s parents. An attorney will help you decide which option is best in your case.
Our compassionate team of personal injury attorneys will give you the answers you need. USAttorneys.com recommends you consult with a lawyer as soon after your crash as possible. Your first consultation is free and confidential.