Columbia, SC – South Carolina has ranked as one of the states with the highest rate of fatal drunk driving accidents.
According to a study done by 24/7 Wall St., South Carolina is one of the deadliest states in the nation when it comes to deaths related to drunk driving accidents.
This is not the first time research has revealed that South Carolina drunk driving accident attorneys have their hands full; the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released a fact sheet outlining the sobering facts about drunk driving in South Carolina.
Check out some fast facts about fatal drunk driving accidents stats in South Carolina, what constitutes driving drunk, and the repercussions you could face.
Facts about Fatal Drunk Driving Accidents in South Carolina
- 3,870 people were killed in drunk driving accidents in South Carolina between 2003-2012.
- The age group with the highest rate of fatal drunk driving accidents is those between the age of 21-34.
- Of the 21-34 age group, the national rate of deaths per 100,000 people was 6.7, and the South Carolina rate of deaths per 100,000 people was 14.2.
- The national rate of deaths per 100,000 males is 5.2, and the South Carolina rate of deaths per 100,000 males is 12.3.
- The national rate of deaths per 100,000 females is 1.5, and the South Carolina rate of deaths per 100,000 females is 3.2.
- 1.6% of adults in South Carolina report driving after drinking too much alcohol in the past 30 days.
Drunk Driving Laws in South Carolina
- If your BAC is 0.08% or higher it is illegal to drive in South Carolina.
- It is illegal to drive with a BAC over 0.02% if you are under 21 years old.
- The legal limit is 0.04% or higher if you have a CDL license.
Drunk Driving Penalties in South Carolina
- For first-time DUI offenders, your driver’s license will be suspended for six months if your BAC was below 0.15%; if your BAC was above 0.15% license suspension lasts indefinitely.
- For second and third-time DUI offenders, your driver’s license will be suspended indefinitely.
- You will have to pay $100 to reinstate your driver’s license.
- After your suspension is completed, you will be required to carry SR22 insurance for at least three years.
- You will be required to complete an alcohol abuse course in South Carolina.
- Second and third-time drunk driving offenders, or first time drunk driving offenders involving “great bodily injury or death,” will have an Ignition Interlock Device will be installed on your vehicle.
Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers in South Carolina
Have you been involved in a drunk driving accident in and have no idea what to do next? Relax, help is on the way.
USAttorneys.com makes it quick and simple to get connected with qualified legal professionals in South Carolina that you can trust. Regardless of the details of your case, your drunk driving accident attorney will fight for you in the courtroom and offer advice along the way.
Don’t waste another second of your life worrying; contact our drunk driving accident lawyers in South Carolina today for a free case evaluation.